GtC Jr. Staff Member – Mabelline Velez

Mabelline Velez is a high school senior. She is a dynamic student and mentor. Mabelline joined GtC four years ago and has been leading both crew and staff by example ever since. Mabelline is an inspiration at GtC. She takes on challenges in the garden and encourages other students to try new things. Since joining GtC she has also began teaching gardening to elementary school students in an after-school program at Zanetti Montessori School in Springfield.
Interview with Mabelline Velez

Why did you sign up for GtC?
I signed up because I like to garden but also I saw the program as an opportunity to get work experience. Even though it was a youth program and not a job I thought that I would gain skills that I could use in my future.

Why have you stayed with GtC so long?
I have stayed with GTC for this long because it’s a job for me, but also I found a family there and incredible friends that I know I will keep for my whole life. Also I enjoy what I do there. I love to garden. During the time I have spent with GtC I have learned the value of taking care of our Earth. I like to work with kids and teach them what I have learned in the past which I think is important.

What are you currently involved in now other than GtC?
Now I am working in an after school program helping a gardening teacher. I’m also a volunteer at a nursing home.

What are your future plans?
I am pretty sure that I will be majoring in Biology but I will also like to major in something else. Depending on what college I go to, I could be majoring in Agriculture which I love as well.

What are your hobbies? How do you like to spend your free time?
In my free time I love to go biking with my brother[also a GtC member], reading or play tennis or soccer.

What advice would you like to give to other young girls out there?
One piece of advice that I would give to the young girls out there is to do what you really like and even though for some people it may sound weird, if you like it and you are happy with it keep going. Never let something negative change your plans and try your best to learn from that experience. I will also tell them that education is important and that we have a future in our hands with education.

This entry was posted in GtC Staff, Youth. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to GtC Jr. Staff Member – Mabelline Velez

  1. Ippy says:

    Awww Mabeline! All grown up and getting ready for college. I'm so proud of you! I can't believe you've been with GtC for so long…time goes by so fast. I miss you!

  2. Anonymous says:

    If not too late, Mabeline, check out this link for one small scholarship idea: http://www.nophnrcse.org/index.php/scholarshipsCongrats on your work!Sincerely,Aaron DushkuHispanic Emphasis Program ManagerNRCS-USDAaaron.dushku@ma.usda.gov

Leave a comment